Changing how we talk about
mental health in the tech community


We fight the harmful stigma around mental health disorders by speaking openly about our experiences. Shame and silence are countered with honest, straightforward explanations of how mental illness affects us.


We educate the tech community on both the economic impact of mental disorders, and how they affect worker productivity. We collect and share important data on tech workers' expectations about how they'll be treated.


We help workplaces identify the best resources to support their employees, and we create detailed guides on how to make the workplace safe and supportive for those with mental health issues.

About OSMI

Ed's talk is practically subversive for acknowledging mental health issues out in the open, which is exactly what we all need to be doing.
— Jacqui Cheng

Open Sourcing Mental Illness is a non-profit, 501c3 corporation dedicated to raising awareness, educating, and providing resources to support mental wellness in the tech and open source communities.

OSMI began in 2013 as a speaking campaign by Ed Finkler. Ed started speaking at tech conferences about his personal experiences as a web developer and open source advocate with a mental health disorder. The response was overwhelming, and Ed has continued to speak, gather data, and organize efforts to change experiences of those with mental health disorders in the tech workplace. This includes speaking at conferences and companies, conducting research, and creating documentation to assist companies in making supportive environments for those impacted by mental health disorders. He is assisted in these efforts by selfless volunteers who bring their time and expertise to bear on this important issue.

About Ed Finkler

Ed Finkler, also known as Funkatron, started making web sites before browsers had frames. He does front-end and server-side work in Python, PHP, and JavaScript. Ed is the CTO at Graph Story. He has suffered from mental health disorders for his entire life, and believes strongly in open, fearless discussion of mental health issues to combat shame and stigma.


Jennifer Akullian, PhD.

Ayumi Bennett

Joe Ferguson

Gary Hockin

Christina Keelan

Elizabeth Naramore

Jenn Turner

Johanna Merritt Wu, PhD.





The Wall of Awesome


CJ Livingston


Tim Corrin

Justin Martin

Guillermo Mansilla

G J Hockin

Thomas North Gamble

Kevin B Tuttle

Gregory Tarnoff

Brian Fenton

Jerry Evans

Brian Wisti

R J de la Fuente

Spencer Hoyt

Nick Sutterer

Ted M Young

Diana Espino

Justin Carmony

Tyler Mincey

Tim Heckman

Daniel Cousineau

Allan MacGregor

A forsstrom

Brion Vibber


Cristovao Verstraeten

Matthew R Sparks

Wesley Beam

Scott Arciszewski

Zachary Copley

Adam Jenkins

Alexandra H. Johnson


Matt Brunt

Brian Moon


Kevin Makice

Larry Masters


Jake Smith


Justin T Yost

Kristopher Plunkett

Mika Epstein

daniel d beil

Andrew L Cassell

Aaron Jorbin

Jean Soderkvist

Cameron Koczon

Brian Pitts

Deborah Resnick

Michael Beckwith

Chris Tickner

Joel A Rasmus

Karen J Demerly

Lisa Brewster

Stefan Koopmanschap

Matthew Mitchum

Cresta L Cates


Daniel Joye

AM Clyde

Henning Glatter-Gotz

Gemma Lynn

Davi M Moreira

Amanda Folson

Stephen Sauceda

Daryl J Chymko

Timothy H Lieberman

Philippe Beaudoin

Evangelo S Prodromou

Sharon J Cichelli

Sean R Reid

nicolas rosental

FJ de Jonge

Dave Forgac

John P Betley

Jordan Burke

Sally Lehman


Chris G Smith

Sean Foran

Jack Jones

Elizabeth Naramore

Benjamin J Cotton

Taylor Otwell

Miss Laura Sanders

R A Stringer

Mike Hall

Richard Stewart


Bram Van der Sype

Ryan S Adams

Ed Cates

Jason Charnes

Evan Coury

Matthew S Perkins

Derrick Snyder

Mark Forscher

Chris Shiflett

William Golden

Joel Perras

Derick E Bailey

Scott Gowell

Eric Hogue

Jake Champlin

Samantha Quiñones

Joe Kline


James Walker

Maggie Longshore

Pradeep Krishnan

Broc Seib

Jacques Woodcock

Kara Ferguson

CA Hoult

Vanessa Hurst

Ben Ramsey

Colin O'Dell

M D C Pepper

Patrick Allan

Alice Carback

Guillermo Mansilla

Christian Stagevik

Jose Diaz-Gonzalez

Jad Bitar

Nicholas C Duvieilh

Dallas Cook

Larry E Masters

Anthony Grassiot

David Skinner

Mark Shannon Story

Christopher W Brescia



Mr Jeremy Burns


Shawn Aukstakalnis

Chris Greene

William Sonnenreich


Cory Fowler

Nima Nekoui

Juan R Basso

Rodriguez Urdaneta

Justin T Yost